Celebrate 2016

Friday July 15, 2016

Celebrate 2016 took over Nottingham’s Creative Quarter this week with three separate events to showcase the work of our Level 3 TV & Film, Music, Performance, Games and Digital Media students.

The day kicked off in the Broadway Cinema and Confetti’s very first Celebrate Short Film Festival took place. Students, staff, family and friends were treated to a range of films, documentaries and music videos on the big screen – all written, directed, edited and starred in by students across our TV & Film and Film & Acting courses.

The National Videogame Arcade was the setting for a gallery of games, digital media and VFX work. The public were invited to come and take part in hands-on exhibitions by testing games that students had developed, receiving a crash course in stop-motion animation and exploring the design work of our digital media students.

The afternoon concluded at Nottingham Arts Theatre where Music Performance, Music Technology and Live Events students joined forces to put on an amazing gig that included DJ sets, live bands and some amazing lighting.

It was a fantastic day and we wish the best of luck to all of our students as they head into higher education or the world of employment!

Celebrate Short Film Festival Awards

BTEC L3 TV & Film students celebrated the end of their course in style with a glitzy award ceremony. Students had submitted work into a range of categories for consideration for awards in the weeks prior to Celebrate and were recognised for their outstanding work in all areas of TV & Film.

The night’s winners were:

Student of the Year

Veronica McKenna-Sandin

Festival Grand Prize

Chandler Wagstaff

Outstanding Contribution

Aaron Booth

Charles Willis

Charley Hames

Francesca Hill

Kieran Banks

Natasha Hall

Rowan Stroud

Sam Harwood

Thomas Moult

Veronica McKenna-Sandin

Zoe Harrison

Robert Anderson

Sophie Brown

Tiffany Collyer

Joe Cass

Student Choice

Joe Cass

Best Screenplay

Louis Saxby & Mark Sutton

Best Cinematography

Sebastian Hawkins

Best Director

Edward Flemming

Best Editing

Damien Kage

Best Short Film

Millan Heart

Best Music Video

James Huthwait

Best Documentary/Factual Programme

Melissa Lynn